Opposite

The moment I received his text, I dashed out of the room. An “emergency” he had said. I wasn’t sure what that meant, but I knew it wouldn’t be good. Nick wasn’t one to exaggerate. Especially not about Aiden being in an emergency.

As I came to his dorm room, Nick walking out. He was Aiden’s roommate and close friend. “Thank God,” he muttered, not even trying to greet me. “He’s really messed up this time.”

“What happened?” I asked. His eyes went to the ground and he shook his head.

“It’s…better if you see for yourself,” he replied. “I’m going to go out for a bit — until it’s done. Tell Aiden I’ll text him later.” Without waiting for my response, he headed down the hall. I saw his shadow disappear around the corner heading to the entrance.

I didn’t even try to knock. I slipped the spare key he had given me into the door. It unlocked, and I slowly pushed the door open. “Aiden,” I whispered. I walked inside, closing the door. “Aiden?” I repeated after hearing no reply.

“Heather,” I heard him exclaim. He appeared to my left. I jumped; startled. I turned towards him, wide-eyed. He laughed. “There you are. I’ve been waiting.” He gave me a wide smile. Something about it, I noticed, seemed…off. It was his same smile, the one he always gives me after I tell him a corny joke, or trip over something — but, different. There was another aura hanging around him he didn’t usually had. His blue eyes were wide and crazy — he looked crazy.

He was like a whole other person.

“Aiden, what–” I closed my mouth, rethinking my words. “What is wrong? You seem…different.”

He laughed louder, stepping closer to me. His face was barely inches from mine. I could feel his breath on my face. My face flushed red. I tried to step back, but the door was in the way. I froze. “I’m not different,” he said, smirking. “You just haven’t met the real me yet. This, is the real me, Heather.”

“Aiden,” I said quietly. I tried to touch his shoulder. “I don’t–”

“Shut up.” He slapped my hand away, grabbing my wrist. He pushed me against the door, with my arm he gripped held above my head. He leaned in closer. I could smell the alcohol in his breath. I swallowed. He never drank before. He slipped his other hand down my side, feeling up and down me. I struggled to free myself. Then I saw it–

The medicine bottles scattered across the floor. Pills were spilled all over.

I looked back to Aiden. He was grinning harshly. His hand was tracking down the side of my face. I closed my eyes for a moment. Then I took his wrist with my freehand and shoved him to the way. He buckled over. I felt a bit bad, but didn’t let myself get too hung up over it. There was something wrong with him. I had to help.

I flung myself at the pills and started to read the backs of their bottles. “Bipolar medication…” I read. He’s…bipolar? I thought.

I stood up carrying two pills in my hand. I bent over Aiden, who was sitting on the ground, rubbing his head. “Take these. Now,” I commanded.

He looked up at me, his eyes laughing. “What makes you think I will listen?”

“This does,” I said, shoving the pills in his mouth. He started to gag. “Swallow them.” I grabbed a bottle of water that was sitting by his bed and handed it to him. He took it without a word. He swallowed.

“Good,” I muttered, putting a hand to my hip. I stared down at him, “I’m going to take a shower, and when I get out, I hope you’re better. You have a lot of explaining to do…” He only met my eyes, deadpan. I didn’t know if that was the Aiden I knew or the diseased one I was looking at.

I left to his bathroom, hoping to wash all those thoughts away with a hot shower.

When I got out, Aiden was sitting on the bed, his head in his hands. “I’m sorry,” he apologized. I sat next to him. “I thought if I told you, you wouldn’t want to see me anymore.”

“Aiden,” I said slowly. “Nothing would make me want to stop seeing you.”

“Not even that?” He asked, raising his head.

“Nothing,” I repeated.

The Problem

Alex was still standing where Olivia had left him, thankfully. He had a map in his hands, his face buried in it. He was squinted at it with full attention. So much, that he didn’t even notice her until she was less than ten feet away from him.

“Alex,” she yelled. “Alex!”  Splinter barked at her happily as she approached. For maybe the first time, she ignored the urge to pet at the husky’s soft fur. Finally, Alex glanced up from the map. His face was unamused.

“What?” He asked annoyed.

“We need to get out,” she urged. “Now.” She tried to tug at his arm, towards the direction of the entrance. He wouldn’t budge. “Alex!” She repeated.

He raised a brow. “Now, why would we do this Olivia?” He waved his hands around the open space of the prison, circling around. “This place is practically an oasis. We could stay here for at least a few more days.”

“No!” She argued. “That’s not the problem.”

“What is the problem then?” He folded the map, pushing it into his back pocket — waiting for her answer. She opened her mouth, but was interrupted almost immediately by the sound of thundering footsteps. They both turned to where it was coming from. A figure came running from the doorway at the other end of the building.

It was the dark-haired man from before.

Olivia pointed. “Him!” She shouted. “He’s the problem.” The man held up his hands, guilty. He slowly stepped towards them.

“Really,” he breathed. He sounded out-of-breath. Sweat was pouring down his face. His hair was stuck to his forehead, damp. “I don’t mean any harm. It was all a misunderstanding.”

Olivia was about to bad-mouth him, but Alex spoke before she did. “I’m completely confused,” he admitted. He pointed at the man, then to her. “What is this ‘problem’?”

She glared at the man. “He’s a cannibal. A cannibal, Alex.” Alex didn’t look convinced. He looked to the other male.

“And what do you say, uh…”

“Will,” the other man finished. “My name is Will.”

Alex nodded. “Okay, Will. What do you say about this, then?” He folded his arms, studying Will.

Will sighed. “I came here with another group. There was this girl…a very pretty one. We stayed here for little around a few months. During that time, that girl and I got pretty involved. The leader of the group happened to be her father. He didn’t like me. At all, to say the least. He caught me and her doing…” His eyes wandered to Olivia, and his voice trailed off. She turned pink. Alex’s lips were almost turned to a smirk.

What? Sex?” She demanded. “I’m not a child. You don’t need to censor for me, goddammit.”

“Well, you look a bit young–” She glared at him. He waved his hands, dismissing the statement. “Anyways, he caught us. Locked me in that cell with another guy. The guy died. After a few weeks, I had to eat. So I…ate him.” His eyes were at the ground. All three of them were silent.

“What did you drink, then?” Alex asked, looking interested.

Olivia wanted to punch him. Both of them, actually. “Why does that matter!” She said. “He ate someone. Did you not hear me the first time?”

“He had his reasons, Olivia,” Alex told her, in a scolding voice. For that instance, he reminded her of her mother. She felt a pang of sadness. “Did you not hear him?” She didn’t reply.

Will waited for them to stop arguing. “I had to drink my pee,” he answered. His face was wrinkled in disgust.

Alex laughed. “Seriously?”

Seriously,” Will replied, smiling. “Whatever works, right?”

“Damn,” Alex muttered. He looked to Olivia, “This guy’s cool in my book. I don’t know what  the problem is.”

“My problem?” She exclaimed. “My problem is he ate someone. That goes against every single moral I’ve ever had.”

“Morals don’t matter in this world,” Alex said in a low voice. “Not anymore, Olivia.”
Will shook his head. “No,” he agreed. “They don’t, do they?”