Conscious

Blood dripped down my lips, I wiped my mouth with the back of my hand. In front of me was the remains of what once was a body. The entire body was ripped up, shredded, like something had bitten out of it; me. The stench of blood was overwhelming. I coughed, gagging, and clutching my stomach. I knew I shouldn’t of done it. I knew it. But the hunger had overcame me. And now, here I am, puking my guts out, because of that one choice I could have avoided.

Once I stopped hurling, I tried to pull myself up, using the side of the alley walls for help. I only fell back down in return. I could feel the blood drying around my lips, but I was too sick to care. I just wanted to find a bed and sleep. Sleep. It was the only thing I could to escape this nightmare. I felt like my body was slowly shutting down.

How long will it be until I finally die?

(It could be now.)

I sat up, pressed my back against the wall. I closed my eyes tightly. If it’s going to happen, make it quick.

(For what you’ve done all these years? No, no. It’s going to be long…and painful.)

The words echoed in my head. I knew it was true, but I still shook my head. “No…” I groaned. “No.”

(Yes.)

“No!” I screamed as loud as I possibly could in this condition. It ended in my voice cracking, and a painful cough. More blood. Why am I still bleeding? Is it the blood I consumed coming back out of me?

(It’s for what you did.)

“Maybe it is.” I agreed. “Maybe it is for what I’ve did. So what? Just fucking kill me already? I’m tired of this. Just kill me!”

(Is that what you really want?)

Yes, my mind whispered. Yes. End it all now, please. End it…

(That would be too easy-)

“Wouldn’t it?” A voice said behind me. I swung myself around. A dark haired man had a knife pointing in my direction. His dark eyes glimmered in the shadows.  “Much too easy.” We want a slow death, his voice whispered in my head.

“W-who are you?” I gasped. He walked closer, I stumbled back, hitting a puddle of water. It drenched my already strained jeans.

“I know what you are.” He continued. And I’m going to kill you.

In a blink of the eye, the knife was placed to my throat. He face was inches from mine. “I’m-” He slashed the knife across my neck. I gagged and fell over. My own blood flowing around me. The light only went through my eyes for a few moments before it all went black.

(I’m your thoughts; your conscious.)